Conan the Existentialist…

The Destroyer by Frank Frazetta

By Crom Jean-Paul Sartre!  Make way for Conan the Existentialist!

“Let me live deep while I live; let me know the rich juices of red meat and stinging wine on my palate, the hot embrace of white arms, the mad exultation of battle when the blue blades flames and crimson, and I am content. Let teachers and priests and philosophers brood over questions of reality and illusion. I know this: if life is an illusion, then I am no less an illusion, and being thus, the illusion is real to me. I live, I burn with life, I love, I slay, and am content.”

(R.E. Howard Queen of the Black Coast, 133)

Personally I prefer to brood over ‘questions of reality and illusion’ but there you go… with thanks to Harley J. Sims for highlighting this beautifully written passage in his review of ‘The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian’ at  http://www.mythsoc.org/reviews/coming-of-conan-cimmerian/

Leave a Reply

